First standardised susceptibility testing method | Established in 1981 | World leader | Working with UK laboratories | Supporting further development of EUCAST | Improving quality of susceptibility testing

BSAC Susceptibility Testing Standing Committee was established in 1981; it developed one of the first standardised susceptibility testing disc diffusion methods in 2001.

In recent years, the committee has played an essential role in EUCAST, moving to harmonise breakpoints, develop methodology, and standardise susceptibility testing throughout Europe & now the World.

The committee now aims to:

  • Support UK laboratories with Antimicrobial Susceptibility testing (AST) problems
  • Provide AST guidance specific to the UK and clarification on EUCAST guidance
  • Support further development of EUCAST susceptibility testing methods
  • Improve quality of susceptibility testing through educational User Group Days & Residential Workshops

For more information about the work of the committee or on any susceptibility testing issue, please contact: Mandy Wootton (Secretary to the Standing Committee)

Susceptibility Testing News

Updates for UK laboratories

EUCAST disk diffusion method

Further information on EUCAST disc diffusion method

Susceptibility Testing Tools

Tools to help you organise and optimise your susceptibility testing results

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers to commonly asked questions about AST

Susceptibility Testing Education

Find information about BSAC AST events here

Current AST Standing Committee Membership

  • Dr Robin Howe (Chair), Consultant Microbiologist, University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff
  • Dr Mandy Wootton (Secretary), Lead Scientist, SACU, University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff
  • Professor Alasdair MacGowan, Consultant Microbiologist, Southmead Hospital, Bristol
  • Professor David Livermore, Professor of Medical Microbiology, University of East Anglia, Norwich
  • Dr Nicholas Brown, Consultant Microbiologist, Addenbrookes Hospital, Cambridge
  • Dr Trevor Winstanley, Clinical Scientist, Northern General Hospital, Sheffield
  • Professor William Hope, University of Liverpool
  • Mr Christopher Teale, Animal & Plant Health Agency, Shrewsbury
  • Professor Gunnar Kahlmeter, EUCAST Steering Committee member, Vӓxjӧ, Sweden
  • Dr Gerry Glynn, Medical Microbiologist, Altnagelvin Hospital, N. Ireland
  • Dr Matthew Ellington, Public Health England, London
  • Ms Phillipa Burns, Trainee Consultant Clinical Scientist at Hull University Teaching Hospitals
  • Dr Mairi MacLeod, Scottish Microbiology and Virology Network
  • Miss Collette Allen, Novel & Dangerous Pathogen Unit, Public Health England
  • Dr Pegah Hafezi, Southmead Hospital, Bristol
The following documents are provided for use or information as required
GP? Pharmacist? Researcher? Social Scientist? Whatever field you work in, if you’re committed to fighting infection then we want you to join us as a BSAC Member.
Become a member
I have read and agree to the Privacy Policy

Having trouble finding what you're after?