BSAC Standing Committee on Susceptibility Testing

The BSAC Susceptibility Testing Standing Committee was established in 1981; it developed one of the first standardised susceptibility testing disc diffusion methods in 2001. In recent years, the committee has played an essential role in EUCAST, moving to harmonise breakpoints and standardise susceptibility testing throughout Europe & now the World.

The committee now aims to:

  • Support UK laboratories through the transition from BSAC to EUCAST disc diffusion methods
  • Support further development of EUCAST susceptibility testing methods
  • Improve quality of susceptibility testing through educational User Group Days & Residential Workshops


Dr Robin Howe (Chair) Consultant Microbiologist, University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff
Dr Mandy Wootton (Secretary) Lead Scientist, SACU, University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff
Professor Alasdair MacGowan Consultant Microbiologist, Southmead Hospital, Bristol
Professor David Livermore Professor of Medical Microbiology, University of East Anglia, Norwich
Dr Nicholas Brown Consultant Microbiologist, Addenbrookes Hospital, Cambridge
Dr Trevor Winstanley Clinical Scientist, Northern General Hospital, Sheffield
Professor William Hope Professor, University of Liverpool
Mr Christopher Teale Animal & Plant Health Agency, Shrewsbury
Professor Gunnar Kahlmeter EUCAST Steering Committee member, Vӓxjӧ, Sweden
Dr Karen Bowker Clinical Scientist, Southmead Hospital, Bristol
Dr Gerry Glynn Medical Microbiologist, Altnagelvin Hospital, N. Ireland
Dr Matthew Ellington Public Health England, London
Ms Phillipa Burns Sn. BMS, Public Health England, Manchester
Dr Mairi MacLeod Scottish Microbiology and Virology Network
Dr Carolyne Horner British Society for Antimicrobial Chemotherapy
Miss Collette Allen (Young Scientist) – Salisbury District Hospital